Locations
185 Results
-
HCR De Oude Molen
HCR De Oude Molen
Warm and friendly family hotel featuring 13 spacious attractive rooms, most with TV and private b...
GROESBEEK
Restaurant -
Sous les Eglises
Sous les Eglises
Characteristic hotel in the heart of Beek, a village in the rural district of Ubbergen, home to m...
BEEK-UBBERGEN
Hotel -
LUX Nijmegen
LUX Nijmegen
LUX: the largest art-house cinema in the Netherlands with a diverse and interesting programme. Ni...
NIJMEGEN
Restaurant -
Camperpark Lingewaard
Camperpark Lingewaard
Lingewaard camper van park is situated in a rural setting just outside Gendt. The pitches include...
GENDT
Caravan park -
Nijmegen - Mariken van Nieumeghen
Nijmegen - Mariken van Nieumeghen
Nijmegen
Art and Culture -
The first clashes: German attacks repelled, losses to be mourned.
The first clashes: German attacks repelled, losses to be mourned.
The Polish troops took up positions in and around Driel, including at the predecessor of this pos...
Driel
Sight -
Little Canada
Little CanadaLittle Canada
In September 1944, the war was raging through Gelderland. The Allied forces were stationed there between October 1944 and February 1945, sleeping in barracks such as those shown in the picture. When the Allied forces advanced into Germany, they left a number of these barracks behind. Tens of thousands of civilians were forced to flee because of the war. Wijchen – then home to 8,000 inhabitants and a safe haven amidst the violence – had to accommodate 6,000 displaced people in a short space of time. After the liberation, the housing shortage remained unacceptably high and the council took over a collection of Allied huts. People came to live in these eleven huts and barracks, without electricity or plumbing; water was pumped by hand. The complex soon came to be known as ‘Little Canada’. In 1955, the last resident left and the complex was demolished.
In September 1944, the war was raging through Gelderland. Between October 1944 and February 1945,...
Wijchen
Routemedia -
Rijndijk and Engineers Monument: the crossing of the Rhine
Rijndijk and Engineers Monument: the crossing of the Rhine
This location - situated opposite the village of Oosterbeek - played an important role in both th...
Driel
Sight -
Amusement park Tivoli
Amusement park Tivoli
Amusement park Tivoli offers kids from two years old really great fun with exciting rides and amu...
BERG EN DAL
Amusement park -
Campsite de Oude Molen
Campsite de Oude Molen
In the beautiful wooded rolling landscape of Groesbeek, campsite De Oude Molen is located on the...
GROESBEEK
Camp ground -
Toonen Dekkers Grebbeberg
Toonen Dekkers GrebbebergToonen Dekkers Grebbeberg
This street is named after Sigbertus Toonen Dekkers, a resident of Balgoij, who was killed in action on the Grebbeberg on 13 May 1940 at the age of 35.
This street is named after Sigbertus Toonen Dekkers, a resident of Balgoij, who was killed in act...
Balgoij
Routemedia -
Koningsplein Nijmegen
Koningsplein Nijmegen
Koningsplein is a pleasant location in the center of Nijmegen, its wealth of shops amongst the ou...
Nijmegen
Entertainment center -
Hotel Restaurant MANNA
Hotel Restaurant MANNA
MANNA is a hotel and global food & fish restaurant located in Nijmegen city centre. MANNA earned...
NIJMEGEN
Restaurant -
Audiospot: Hotel Erica
Audiospot: Hotel Erica
After Nijmegen was bombed on 22nd February 1944, Hotel Erica in nearby Berg en Dal became a refug...
Berg en Dal
Luisterplek -
Restaurant Pancake House St. Walrick
Restaurant Pancake House St. Walrick
The St. Walrick restaurant and pancake house is situated in wooded surroundings. There is a small...
OVERASSELT
Restaurant -
Molenstraat (Nijmegen)
Molenstraat (Nijmegen)
Molenstraat in Nijmegen town centre offers numerous possibilities, with plenty of things to see a...
NIJMEGEN
Shopping area -
Tienakker Convent
Tienakker ConventTienakker Convent
The British headquarters here in Wijchen was located in this old convent. The monument recounts the story of the Sisters of Tienakker, who had to deal with the German Wehrmacht, patients from the Sint Jozefgesticht and refugees from Nijmegen. From the end of September 1944, it then became the British headquarters. King George VI also paid a visit to boost the morale of the troops. At the front of the entrance to the Kloosterpark stands a monument providing further information. The convent is now privately owned.
The convent is now privately owned.
The British headquarters here in Wijchen was located in this old convent. The monument tells the...
Wijchen
Routemedia